What to do when you Receive a Notice of Violation
If you receive a notice of violation, this means that your vehicle was captured by the red light camera system in violation of Florida State Statutes. The Notice of Violation is the first notification you receive of this infraction. This notification will include a notice number and a PIN number which will allow you to access this video to see the violation that was captured by the camera system. If you do not wish to contest the Notice of Violation, you can pay a fine of $158.00. There are no points assessed on your Driver’s License and this violation will not be listed on your driving record. If you were not the driver of the vehicle, you may provide the Davie Police Department with an affidavit which states this. This affidavit must identify the person that was driving your vehicle at the time of the violation by providing their full name, date of birth, address, and driver’s license number. This affidavit can be obtained by visiting the Violation Info Website.
To request a hearing pursuant to Florida Statute § 316.0083, please submit the signed and dated coupon located at the bottom of the Notice of Violation in the envelope provided. You will be notified of the date, time and location of the hearing. If you do nothing, a Uniform Traffic Citation will be issued and you will receive this in the mail in approximately 60 days. Upon receiving the Uniform Traffic Citation, follow the instructions on the bottom to request a hearing in the County Court.